C Lydian Ukulele Scale (mode)


Standard Tuning (gCEA).
View this scale in: G-Tuning (DGBE)D-Tuning (ADF#B)Slack-key Tuning (gCEG)

The Lydian mode is the fourth mode of the major scale. This major mode is characterized by its higher fourth which makes it perfect for jazz players and movie soundtracks. It can be used on a major chord, a major 7, and on a Lydian harmonic grid. Some musicians will even use it also on a first degree Major 7 Chord, instead of the Ionian mode, to spice up their improvisations.

Don't know what a scale is? Read this first.


Staff Line Notation

Scale details

  • Type : Major
  • Number of notes : 7
  • Formula : 1,2,3,#4,5,6,7
  • Notes : C, D, E, G♭, G, A, B
  • Intervals : W,W,W,H,W,W,H
  • Degrees : C (I - tonic), D (II - supertonic), E (III - mediant), G♭ (IV - subdominant), G (V - dominant), A (VI - submediant), B (VII - leading tone)

Scale Positions

You'll find below the 5 different positions/shapes of the C Lydian Uke scale in Standard Tuning (gCEA), along with their ascending tab patterns.

Position #1

Position #2

Position #3

Position #4

Position #5


Got questions? Want to share a tip or simply talk uke? Join the conversation!

uke talk illustration
© 2012-2024 Ukulelescales.com