Gb Locrian Ukulele Scale (mode)


Standard Tuning (gCEA).
View this scale in: G-Tuning (DGBE)D-Tuning (ADF#B)Slack-key Tuning (gCEG)

The Locrian mode is the seventh mode of the major scale. It is a minor mode and contains the diminished fifth, in contrast to the three other minor modes which contain a perfect fifth. It is close enough to the Phrygian mode with the only difference being the fifth. This is the mode used on a minor seventh flat chord (m7b5) and on a diminished chord.

Don't know what a scale is? Read this first.


Staff Line Notation

Scale details

  • Type : Major
  • Number of notes : 7
  • Formula : 1,b2,b3,4,b5,b6,b7
  • Notes : G♭, G, A, B, C, D, E
  • Intervals : H,W,W,H,W,W,W
  • Degrees : G♭ (I - tonic), G (II - supertonic), A (III - mediant), B (IV - subdominant), C (V - dominant), D (VI - submediant), E (VII - leading tone)

Scale Positions

You'll find below the 5 different positions/shapes of the Gb Locrian Uke scale in Standard Tuning (gCEA), along with their ascending tab patterns.

Position #1

Position #2

Position #3

Position #4

Position #5


Got questions? Want to share a tip or simply talk uke? Join the conversation!

uke talk illustration
© 2012-2024