E Locrian Ukulele Scale (mode) - Baritone


G-Tuning (DGBE).
View this scale in: Standard Tuning (gCEA)D-Tuning (ADF#B)Slack-key Tuning (gCEG)

The Locrian mode is the seventh mode of the major scale. It is a minor mode and contains the diminished fifth, in contrast to the three other minor modes which contain a perfect fifth. It is close enough to the Phrygian mode with the only difference being the fifth. This is the mode used on a minor seventh flat chord (m7b5) and on a diminished chord.

Don't know what a scale is? Read this first.


Staff Line Notation

Scale details

  • Type : Major
  • Number of notes : 7
  • Formula : 1,b2,b3,4,b5,b6,b7
  • Notes : E, F, G, A, B♭, C, D
  • Intervals : H,W,W,H,W,W,W
  • Degrees : E (I - tonic), F (II - supertonic), G (III - mediant), A (IV - subdominant), B♭ (V - dominant), C (VI - submediant), D (VII - leading tone)

Scale Positions

You'll find below the 5 different positions/shapes of the E Locrian Uke scale in G-Tuning (DGBE), along with their ascending tab patterns.

Position #1

Position #2

Position #3

Position #4

Position #5


Got questions? Want to share a tip or simply talk uke? Join the conversation!

uke talk illustration
© 2012-2021 Ukulelescales.com